Hall of


The Hall of Fame honor recognizes breeders who have dynamically influenced the direction and advancement of the Hereford breed.

2017 Winners

  • Lester Schafer

    Lester Schafer

    Buffalo Lake, Minn.

    Lester Schafer was raised on the farm where he currently resides. He graduated from Buffalo Lake High School in 1944 and went on to serve in the military in 1945, where he was a member of the Army of Occupation in Germany after World War II. He was discharged from the military in 1947 and attended the University of Minnesota-St. Paul, where he graduated with a degree in animal husbandry. The registered Hereford herd Schafer runs was originally started by his aunt and uncle in 1917. The farm received century farm status in 2000. Schafer purchased a scale and began collecting weaning weights on calves in 1960. When the AHA established the Whole Herd Total Performance Records (TPR™) program a few years later, he was one of the first to sign up. Throughout the years, he has remained active in the Minnesota Hereford Association, the Minnesota Hereford Breeders and the Minnesota State Cattlemen’s Association. Schafer served as the secretary for the Minnesota Hereford Association for 25 years and has been inducted into the Minnesota Hereford Breeders Hall of Fame and the Minnesota Livestock Hall of Fame. He and his wife, Kathleen, have four children — Mary, Kala, Laurie and John. The couple have spent their entire lives farming and ranching on the same farm where Schafer grew up.
  • Byron Bayers

    Byron Bayers

    Twin Bridges, Mont.

    Byron Bayers has spent almost all of his 80 years involved with the Hereford breed. Bayers Hereford Ranch was established in 1918 and is the oldest continuous running Hereford herd in the state of Montana. The original herd was primarily polled and was gradually transitioned to horned cattle until polled Hereford influence was brought back in the late 1990s. After graduating from the University of Montana in 1952, Bayers served as an officer in the United States Air Force before returning to the ranch in 1955 after he married his wife, Pauline. He served as president of the Montana Hereford Association in 1958, 1960 and 1970 and was elected president of the AHA in 1976. Bayers Hereford Ranch was a member of the Montana Beef Performance Association and a charter member of the AHA’s Whole Herd TPR program. In the ‘60s and early ’70s, he judged at almost almost every major Hereford show in the U.S. including the National Western Stock Show, the Chicago International, Fort Worth, Houston and Phoenix. Bayers was given the University of Montana’s Distinguished Alumni Award in 1976 and was inducted into the Montana State Fair Pioneer Hall of Fame in 1981. In 2008 he received the Canadian Ambassador Award from the Canadian Hereford Association. In 1966 he and his family established Hereford America. The paper is currently mailed to every state and seven countries.

Previous Years’


2016 Winners

2015 Winners

2014 Winners

2013 Winners

2012 Winners

2011 Winners

2010 Winners

2009 Winners

2008 Winners

2007 Winners

2006 Winners

2005 Winners