Find A Breeder

Outstanding Individuals Recognized at the American Hereford Association Annual Membership Meeting

October 23, 2021

The American Hereford Association (AHA) Annual Membership Meeting continued Oct. 23, 2021, at the Loews Hotel in Kansas City, Mo. During the Annual Meeting the AHA inducted John Meents, Jenera, Ohio and Jim Birdwell, Fletcher, Okla., into the AHA Hall of Merit for their influence in marketing the Hereford breed. Four leaders in the Hereford breed and beef industry were inducted into the AHA Hall of Fame. The 2021 inductees are Jim Courtney, Alzada, Mont.; Bob Harrell, Baker City, Ore.; Dale Micheli, Fort Bridger, Wyo.; and awarded posthumously was Lawrence Duncan, Wingate, Ind.

Integrity is a word often associated with the Hereford breed. The AHA recognizes operations who are dedicated to the industry and have raised Hereford cattle for 50 and 100 years with the Golden Breeder and Century Breeder titles, respectively. The following breeders were recognized:

Golden Breeders:

  • Atkins Herefords, S.D.
  • B&D Herefords, Kan.
  • Blume Herefords, S.D.
  • Circle Y Farm, Ohio
  • Neilyne Genetics, Minn.
  • Parker Bros. Polled Herefords, Tenn.
  • Prestwood Beef Cattle, N.C.
  • Schuette Land & Cattle, S.D.
  • Windmill Acres Farm, N.C. 
  • Y Cross Herefords, Ore. 

Century Breeders:

  • Noack Herefords, Texas
  • Smathers Ranch, Texas 

The Annual Meeting reports, presented by committee chairs of the AHA Board of Directors, boasted the many accomplishments of the Hereford breed during the last fiscal year and illuminated future plans to continue bolstering the demand for the breed. At the conclusion of the meeting, Chad Breeding, Miami, Texas; Lou Ellen Harr, Jeromesville, Ohio; and Travis McConnaughy, Wasola, Mo., were elected to serve on the AHA Board of Directors. Bruce Everhart, Waldron, Ind. will serve as president of the AHA Board of Directors and Bill Goehring, Libertyville, Iowa., will serve as vice president of the association.  

Hereford breeders were recognized during the national and regional show award winners presentation prior to the Ladies of the Royal Sale. Hereford breeders across the nation take pride in selecting exceptional bulls and females that succeed in the showring and will better their respective breeding operation. 2021 National Show Award Winners are as follows:

  • Horned Show Bull of the Year: BK BH Fast Ball F102 ET
  • Polled Show Bull of the Year: MYO 559 On Time 927 ET
  • Horned Show Female of the Year: Purple Iris 145G ET
  • Polled Show Female of the Year: JB MS LDSC Shelby’s 1940 ET


To kick off the Ladies of the Royal Sale, the National Junior Hereford Association (NJHA) auctioned off the prestigious street sign that resides at the AHA headquarters and the pick of sponsoring the horned or polled show at the 2022 Junior National Hereford Expo (JNHE). Ryan and Betsy Chapman, owners of Chapman Land and Cattle, Nunnelly, Tenn., purchased lot No. 1 for $22,000. Their sponsorship will tremendously support the NJHA’s effort in planning the 2022 JNHE, Banners in the Bluegrass, in Louisville, Ky. 

Hereford juniors rounded out the action-packed day in Hale Arena for the American Royal Junior Hereford show. The grand champion female, BOY Harley 018H ET, was exhibited by Paige Lemenager, Hudson, Ill. The Jan. 2, 2020, daughter of ECR Who Maker 210 ET was first named champion junior yearling female. Hans and Vada Anna Vickland, Longmont, Colo., exhibited the reserve champion female, H Doja Cat 008 ET. She is a Feb. 4, 2020, daughter of H Deberard 7454 ET. 

At 8 a.m. on Sunday, Oct 24 the National Hereford Show will be hosted at the American Royal. Join the AHA ringside tomorrow to see the selection of our champions and the 2022 National Hereford Queen.