Breeding, May Top Showmanship Contest at VitaFerm® Junior National Hereford Expo

July 25, 2019

Austin Breeding, Miami, Texas, was chosen as champion senior showman, July 11, at the 2019 VitaFerm® Junior National Hereford Expo (JNHE) in Denver. Reserve champion honors were awarded to Lauren May, Mineral Point, Wis. Sullivan Supply and Stock Show University, Dunlap, Iowa, sponsored the showmanship contest.

After narrowing the field from more than 150 entries, the top 10 seniors competed in the finals, which included a fitting contest.

The other finalists were:

    3rd place – Shayne Myers, Colusa, Calif.
    4th place – Austin Speck, Chehalis, Wash.
    5th place – Brooklyn Adam, Lathrop, Mo.
    6th place – Rylee Barber, Channing, Texas
    7th place – Mason Allan, Schulenburg, Texas
    8th place – Ben Jensen, Courtland, Kan.
    9th place – Whitney Steckel, Taylor, Neb.
    10th place – Lucas Stumpf, Columbia, Ill.

In the intermediate division, Bryden Barber, Channing, Texas, was named the champion showman and Tar Tut, Rushford, Minn., was reserve.

Claiming the junior division champion title was Piper Colyer, Bruneau, Idaho, and reserve champion was Jase Beltz, Galva, Kan.

Maddox Gunn, Greenfield, Ind., was named champion peewee showman and Layna Ottmers, Fredericksburg, Texas, was reserve champion peewee.

Brandon and Rachel Cutrer, Wharton, Texas, judged the senior and intermediate showmanship competitions, and Matt Scasta, Madill, Okla., joined them to evaluate the senior showmanship finals. Taylor Frank, El Dorado, Kan., evaluated the junior, peewee, and pre-peewee showmanship divisions.

Additional results

    3rd place – Jaden Elam, Fort Gibson, Okla.
    4th place – Kaylee McInvale, Lockney, Texas
    5th place – Madeline Braman, Refugio, Texas
    6th place – Ian Forbes, Churchville, Maryland
    7th place – Salem Sifford, Golden, Va.
    8th place – Saige Ward, Laramie, Wyo.
    9th place – Fletcher Larsen, Valentine, Neb.
    10th place – Grant Helsinger, Germantown, Ohio

    3rd place – Maddie Smith, Athens, Texas
    4th place – Fallon Gohr, Madras, Ore.
    5th place – Keyser Ottmers, Fredericksburg, Texas
    6th place – Rylie Meinhardt, Marysville, Kan.
    7th place – Cierra Collins, Chattanooga, Okla.
    8th place – Dustin Denton, Blue Rapids, Kan.
    9th place – Collin Deatsman, Leesburg, Ind.
    10th place – Grady Carter, Stratford, Okla.

    3rd place – Kiera Bremer, Elmwood, Ill.
    4th place – Karly Kolterman, Garland, Neb.
    5th place – Roxton Stone, Stanton, Texas
    6th place – Hadley Harrison, Montague, Calif.
    7th place – Kylee Gaston, Bridgeport, Texas
    8th place – Gunnar Gohr, Madras, Ore.
    9th place – Kynsleigh Krebs, Gordon, Neb.
    10th place – Kaisha Albers, Guide Rock, Neb.