Press releases

Hereford Youth Go Out West for 2010 PRIDE Convention

 KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Leadership development, Hereford cattle and fun highlighted the 2010 Program for Reaching Individuals Determined to Excel (PRIDE) Convention Aug. 2-4 in Boise, Idaho. More than 110 individuals from 23 states participated in this event, hosted by the National Junior Hereford Association (NJHA).

Celeste Settrini, Salinas, Calif., kicked off the conference with her message about not being afraid to be yourself and the importance of becoming an agricultural advocate. Currently serving as California Women for Agriculture president, Celeste and her family have a Hereford ranch near Salinas and she works in sales and marketing for Fresh Network LLC.
“Celeste shared her story with Hereford youth,” explains Danielle Starr, NJHA board member from Manawa, Wis. “One part of her journey that resonated with me was when she was not elected to the junior Hereford board the first time she ran. Instead of giving up or changing herself, she ran again the following year. Her experience proves that while you may not reach your goal the first time, don’t lose confidence, be the person you have become and try again.”
Wednesday morning participants learned about the Master’s of Beef Advocacy (MBA) program sponsored by the beef checkoff. Hereford youth were challenged to complete the MBA program by Oct. 1, and will have the opportunity to participate in a graduation ceremony during the American Hereford Association Annual Meeting weekend in Kansas City, Mo.
            NJHA board members led a series of leadership workshops, including marketing scenarios, how to handle different personalities during a meeting, and another for state association presidents and vice presidents.
            A highlight of the event was the opportunity to tour Idaho Hereford ranches, said PRIDE attendee Steven Stiner from Union Star, Mo. During the event participants visited Shaw Cattle Co., Caldwell; Split Butte Livestock, Minidoka; Heritage Cattle Co., Buhl; and Colyer Herefords, Bruneau.
            Another unforgettable experience was the whitewater rafting trip. Teamwork and fun was enjoyed by all as 14 rafts made their way down the Payette River.
            PRIDE would not be possible without the support of numerous sponsors. A big thank you goes to the ranch tour hosts along with Northwest Farm Credit Services, Allflex and Hereford Youth Foundation of America.
The NJHA is one of the most active junior programs in the country with approximately 3,000 members. The NJHA’s mission is to create and promote enthusiasm for the breed while providing opportunities through leadership, education and teamwork. For more information about the NJHA, visit
For PRIDE Convention pictures, visit
Colorado delegation
From left: Kevin Ernst, Windsor.
Georgia delegation
From left: Gavyn Crawford, Americus; Hunter Grayson, Watkinsville; and Colby Crawford, Americus.
Illinois delegation
Front row from left: Taryn Adcock, Assumption; Kayla Stephens, Edinburg; Tamar Adcock, Assumption; Andrew Albin, Newman; Cody Crum, Rushville; Elise Hackett, Tuscola; and Kendi Sayre, Arzenville.
Indiana delegation
Front row from left: Clayton Miller, Thorntown; and Cody Beck, Bainbridge.
Iowa and Minnesota delegation
From left: Max Cherry, Winthrop, Iowa; Jaime Hanson, Comfrey, Minn.; and Emma Offenberger, Lacona, Iowa.
Idaho delegation
Front row, from left: Heather Stovgard, Kuna; Sally Anderson, Buhl; Jerrod Berrett, Melba; Kelsey Stimpson, Melba; and Emilee Holt, Caldwell. Middle row, from left: Newman Berrett, Melba; Michael Wiseman, Filer; Mark Nebeker, Kuna; and Brice Anderson, Buhl. Back row, from left: Guy Colyer, Bruneau; Bennett Holt, Caldwell; Bailey Anderson, Buhl; and Joe Shaw, Caldwell. Not pictured are: Jacee and Jessica Lancaster, Jerome.
Kansas delegation
From left: Brady Jensen, Courtland; and Kimber Evans, Fall River.
Missouri and Arkansas delegation
From left: Reba Hurst, Nevada; Joel Butler, Republic; Steven Steiner, Union Star; Justin Bacon, Prairie Grove; Tricia Erickson, Maysville; and Amanda Bacon, Prairie Grove.
Montana delegation
From left: Brad Holden, Valier; Ryley Shipp, Hysham; Austin Buzanowski, Pompeys Pillar; Taylor Sidwell, Roberts; and Kayla Lowery, Deer Lodge.
North Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia
From left: Matt Woolfolk, Jackson, Tenn.; Hannah Wine, Marshall, Va.; and Mason and Rossie Blinson, Buies Creek, N.C.
Oklahoma delegation
From left: Mark Sims, Elgin; Keysto Stotz, Skiatook; and Whitney Andras, Connerville.
Oregon delegation
From left: Levi Brant, Redmond; Cooper Alexander, Redmond; Zack Hartzell, Redmond; Brandt Downing, Butte Falls; Rachel Blomquist, Bend; Amelia Stallings, Eugene; and Chelsea Castrow, Madras.
Pennsylvania delegation
From left: Andre and Aleesha Howe, Wagontown.
South Dakota delegation
From left: Shawna Reuer, Bowdle; and Kelsey Repenning, Mitchell.
Texas delegation
Front row from left: Austin Breeding, Miami; Brody Rogers, Hamilton; Blayke Breeding, Miami; and Harley Rogers, Hamilton. Back row from left: Jake Metch, Bainbridge, N.Y.; Mallorie Phelps, Grandview; Bethany Nolan, Gilmer; Shelby Rogers, Hamilton; Kirbie Day, Waxahachie; and Koby Rogers, Hamilton. Not pictured is Kandi Knippa, Seguin.
Wisconsin delegation
Front from left: Nicole Folkman, Ixonia; Morgan Wiswell, Elkhorn; Tayton Stolee, Argyle; and Danielle Starr, Manawa.
Washington delegation
From left: Courtney Tribble, Puyallup; Haley Dorman, LaCrosse; Bryant Brown, Elma; Sky Senyohl, Enumclaw; and Leighton Dorman, LaCrosse. Not pictured are: Maggie and Ashlee Ashby, Castle Rock.


Most recent
Search press releases

Enter a topic to search for related press releases.

Browse past

Select an issue to view all articles from that month.

Quick links