Press releases

American Royal Hereford Champions Named

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Golden Oak Outcross 18U and KLD BR Carol Neon D85 ET won the grand champion bull and female titles at the 2009 American Royal National Hereford Show, Nov. 1 in Kansas City.

Randy and Jamie Mullinix, Toulon, Ill., judged the 160-head open show. The couple complimented breeders on the quality exhibited. Randy added that it is a great time to be a Hereford breeder and AHA members have a lot to be excited about.

Grand and yearling champion bull honors went to Hoffman Herefords, Thedford, Neb.; Ward Ranch, McAlester, Okla.; and Churchill Cattle Co., Manhattan, Mont., with Golden Oak Outcross 18U. The March 10, 2008, bull is sired by Golden-Oak Fusion 3S.

Junior Hereford breeder, Rylee Barber, Channing, Texas, exhibited the reserve grand and fall calf champion bull. BR Currency 8144 ET is a Sept. 7, 2008, son of DM BR Sooner.

In the female show, taking top honors was Rylee Owen, Mason, Texas, with KLD BR Carol Neon D85 ET. The female was first named spring yearling champion female and is an April 21, 2008, daughter of GH Neon 17N.

Reserve grand and reserve spring yearling champion female honors went to Karlee Osborne, Sheridan, Ill., with H Poetic Justice 8042. She is an April 18, 2008, daughter of TH JWR SOP 16G 57G Tundra 63N. Carol Neon and Poetic Justice also took grand and reserve champion honors respectively at the 2009 Junior National Hereford Expo in Tulsa, Okla., this summer. In the cow-calf show, KLD 3060 Daisy D76 ET shown by Katie Nolles, Bassett, Neb., was chosen champion. She is a May 17, 2007, daughter of BR Lansing 3060 and showed with an April bull calf at side sired by JBN L1 Domino 508.

LT MS 733G Joleen 7003 was named reserve champion cow for exhibitors Justin and Amanda Bacon, Prairie Grove, Ark. She showed with a June bull calf at side sired by CB Master Boomer 051B.

Four L Hereford Farm, Atwood, Tenn., won the best six head award. Rylee Barber won the premier breeder banner and Larsons’ Polled Herefords, Clifton, Texas, won the premier exhibitor banner.

Cody Lowderman, Macomb, Ill., judged the 46-head junior show prior to the open show. EKS S04 Paris U37 shown by Shayne Myers, Colusa, Calif., was slapped the grand champion female. The Oct. 12, 2008, female is sired by CSF MSU WF Ransom 115R. Taking reserve honors in the junior show was Austin Bauer, Bonfield, Ill., with DeLHawk H Rumor 811 ET. The Feb. 14, 2008, female is sired by GO Excel L18.

To view complete results of the 2009 American Royal National Hereford Show Champion and division winner photos may be downloaded at Enter “Hereford09” when prompted for a password.

Additional division results

Spring calf champion heifer: Copeland & Sons LLC, Nara Visa, N.M., with JCS Reba 9146 ET by BR Moler ET.

Reserve spring calf champion heifer: Copeland & Sons LLC with JCS Bree 9145 ET by BR Moler ET.

Junior calf champion heifer: Karlee Osborne, Sheridan, Ill., with DeLHawk KO Honor 94J 0904 ET by CH Enuff Prophet 2913.

Reserve junior calf champion heifer: Bryden Barber, Channing, Texas, with BR Gabrielle 9011ET by BR DM CSF Wallace ET.

Fall calf champion heifer: Shayne Myers, Colusa, Calif., with EKS S04 Paris U37 by CSF MSU WF Ransom 115R.

Reserve fall calf champion heifer: Laken Lierle, Ft. Cobb, Okla., with GKB JKL 146 Breeze B865 ET by DM BR L1 Domino 146.

Intermediate champion heifer: Carlee Meeks, Taylor, Neb., with UPS Miss Shadow 8652 by GH-Adams Shadow 144S.

Reserve intermediate champion heifer: Rachel Adkins, Canadian, Texas, with BR DM Socorro 8079 by BR Lansing 3060.

Junior yearling champion heifer: Austin Bauer, Bonfield, Ill., with DeLHawk H Rumor 811 ET by GO Excel L18.

Reserve junior yearling champion heifer: Peyton Schmitt, Nichols, Iowa, and David Nelson, Valley City, N.D., with DAN Ms Firefly 65P 19U ET by Kairuru Aberdeen 03 0047.

Senior yearling champion heifer: Kati Fehlman, Junction City, Kan., with BR Marie Lavoe 7159 by BR Lansing 3060.

Spring calf champion bull: Topp Herefords, Grace City, N.D., with TH 223 63N Tundra 504W ET by TH JWR SOP 16G 57G Tundra 63N.

Reserve spring calf champion bull: Fawcetts Elm Creek Ranch, Ree Heights, S.D., with ECR L18 Extra Deep 9279 by GO Excel L18.

Junior calf champion bull: Lowderman Cattle Co., Macomb, Ill., with LCC Wally 948 by BR DM CSF Wallace ET.

Reserve junior calf champion bull: DeLHawk Cattle, Earlville, Ill.; Behrends Farms, Mason City, Ill.; and Tennessee River Music Inc., Ft. Payne, Ala., with WRB DeLHawk RRO TRM Chesney by H Easy Deal 609 ET.

Reserve fall calf champion bull: Thomas Mead Jr., Midville, Ga.; Star Lake Cattle Ranch, Skiatook, Okla.; Soules Livestock Enterprises, Sperry, Okla.; and C3 Cattle Co., Collinsville Okla., with THM Waylon 9334 ET by STAR Bright Future 533P ET.

Intermediate champion bull: Charles Amos & Son, Indianola, Iowa, with CA Force 8093 by CA Force 5063. Reserve intermediate champion bull: Lowderman Cattle Co. with LCC 414R Caress 8124 by STAR 68M Carlton 414R ET.

Reserve yearling champion bull: Morgan Ranch Inc., Burwell, Neb., with TCC Mr Davidson 81 ET by Ankonian Midas 72.

Senior champion bull: Upstream Ranch, Taylor, Neb.; Adams Hirsche Herefords, High River, Alta.; Colyer Herefords, Bruneau, Idaho; and South Mountain Ranch, Caldwell, Idaho, with UPS TCC Nitro 1ET by GH Neon 17N.

Reserve senior champion bull: Hart Hereford Farm, Jackson, Tenn.; Four L Hereford Farm, Atwood, Tenn.; and Stan Foster, Paragould, Ark., with Four L Odyssey 7059T by UPS Odyssey 1ET.

Most recent
Search press releases

Enter a topic to search for related press releases.

Browse past

Select an issue to view all articles from that month.

Quick links